James T. Edmondson / Type & Lettering


I’m an independent type designer in San Francisco. I graduated from California College of the Arts in 2013, and the TypeMedia program at the Royal Academy of Art in The Hague, Netherlands in 2014.

Email: jte@jamestedmondson.com

Address: 2058 31st Avenue
San Francisco, California 94116

I am currently not taking on freelance work. Sorry to be a diva about it.

Elsewhere on the Internet

Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr, Dribbble, Facebook, Pinterest, and Vimeo.

Press & Interviews

Snap Magazine (February 2013), Instant Bight (November 2012), One Minute With (July 2012), Grain Edit (April 2012), Command G (November 2012), Typetoken (May 2012), Doejo (July, 2012).

Some Useless Awards

Print Magazine New Visual Artists (April 2013), Typographica’s Typefaces of 2012 (Mission Script / March 2013), It’s Nice That Student of the Month (May 2012), and The Hope of America (June 2001).


Undefeated, Facebook, Society of Publication Designers, Johnny Cupcakes, Hattery, Mine™, Vehicle.


This site is running on a file-based cms called Kirby. Recommended by Jessica Hische.

The text face used on this site is Freight Micro by Joshua Darden, and hosted by Typekit. Why am I not using an original typeface for my body copy? Because I haven’t made anything specifically for small use, and Freight Micro is just great!

I have friends

James Provenza, Emily Craig, Matt Heigl, Zoe Minikes, Helen Ip, Erik Marinovich, Jessica Hische, Trevor Baum, Linda Eliason, Brad Wrage, Cosmo Ray, Richard Perez, Dan Cassaro, Michael Jeter, Nathan Cho, Christine Røde, Micah Rivera, Jez Burrows, Joe Prince, Riley Cran, Andre Caraco, Jeff Hunt, Lydia Ortiz, Clive Hacker, Chris Delorenzo, Matt Heigl, Michael Rigley, and Dan Gneiding.


I studied graphic design at California College of the Arts and graduated in the Spring of 2013. I learned about type and various life lessons. Great experience. Highly recommend it.

I was fortunate enough to study under these fine designers and professors: Angie Wang, Mark Fox, Tom Ingalls AKA Tingalls, David Asari, Christopher Simmons, Eric Heiman, Brett MacFadden, Scott Thorpe, Bob Aufuldish, Jon Sueda, Michael Vanderbyl, Dennis Crowe, and Rod Cavazos.


The aforementioned professors, Jim Parkinson, Stephen Coles, Johnathan Hoefler, Tobias Frere-Jones, Ken Barber, Keetra Dean Dixon, Doyald Young, Aaron Draplin, Tiffany Wardle, Stephen Powers, Louise Fili, Ed Templeton, Jack White, Tyler the Creator, Jessica Hische, Steve Martin, Alejandro Paul, Richard Perez, JK Keller, Rod Cavazos, Tim & Eric, Chali2na, Underware, Darren Booth, Herb Lubalin, Ed Benguiat, Geoff McFetridge, Conan O’Brien, Pierre Bernard, Michael Doret, Pendleton Ward, Rivers Cuomo, Jeff Tweedy, Woody Guthrie, Marian Bantjes, Jennifer Daniel, Dan Cassaro, Bob Dylan, and Earl Sweatshirt.

Subscribe to my newsletter to be notified about new typefaces.